PDA

View Full Version : Walleye techniques

rpreston
06-09-2009, 10:26 AM
I am retuning to Eagle lake after a 10 year lay off. In the time I was gone I got married and had four kids. I am planning on taking the two boys (9 & 8) this year. I very excited.

The question I have is that I have not been walleye fishing since the last time I was there. The tackle I hear a lot about is the bottom bouncer rig for getting to the fish in the rock beds while not getting snagged as much. I remember getting my egg sinker snagged many times to my fishing partner’s frustration. Do the bottom bouncers work as well as advertised? I also remember having much better success with a worm harness than a minnow and jig set up.

I also will be going in early August and am looking forward to just making it fun for the kids so they want to come back. Any tips or ideas on fishing during this time would be appreciated.

Alexnsw
06-09-2009, 11:34 AM
I am by no means a walleye expert, I am a diehard ski fisherman. But what I have seen working for that time period is a lindy rig, with a minnow. What you do is slide on a walking sinker and then snell on an octopus hook (size 2 i think), pick the length of the rig and then pinch on a split shot.

That is what I do when I need some walleyes for the freezer...

IF someone else could chime in here I would appreciate it.

Good luck and mabey see you up there,
Alex

Steve Herbeck
06-09-2009, 12:33 PM
well it's about time!!! im sure you'll have a great time. walleye fishing on eagle is with no exageration at least 50%-70% better than 10-15 years ago with numbers of eater fish and many days you catch far more slot fish and over with excellent chances at fish 27-30.
Mid-late Aug Is A Great Time For Walleyes On The Reefs In Eagle Lake.
Depths Avg 24-38' With Typically Alot Of Fishing At 26-32'.
Jigs And Lindy Rigs With Minnows Are Common And Everyday Techniques Here.