PDA

View Full Version : Mantas

ttabaleulb
05-03-2009, 05:59 PM
This is my first year throwing these baits. I am really diggin them so far. The Pike have been crushin these things with reckless abandon. Had one today that just about had the whole thing down its mouth. All I have to say is that I am VERY glad that I pinch the barbs on all of my hooks. A quick push with the pliers and the hooks popped right out and Mr. Pike was on his way. Didn't even have to cut any.

How are these baits for Musky? Seems too good to be true that this bait would kick butt for both Musky AND Pike. LOL

jah1317
05-03-2009, 08:44 PM
I love my manta but, I can't get the fish to eat it. I have only had one interested customer....... I think it is the color I will feel more confident with a natural color one right now I am throwing an orange w/black dots.

Polish_Pike
05-04-2009, 08:05 AM
That 45-incher Tootyfisherman posted last week was caught boatside on a Manta. They work. They were almost discontinued last year because the company was going out of business, but I guess they sold it or something, so the Manta was saved. For a while they were selling on eBay for like $40 a piece.

Red Childress
05-04-2009, 08:32 AM
They are a good bait. I have only been on them for 2 years and you will loose your share of fish on them as well. Try "T-ing" the trebles or even upsize the hooks for better connnection. Make sure you keep the "extra slack" out of your line on the pause. It is very easy to build up excess slack when pulling them with the current....keep your spool packed full of line to minimize the potential for excess slack. The more line floating on the surface (river applications) will not allow the bait to work like it was designed and will help you loose more fish.

Sometimes the fish will simply miss the bait, over and over again.

Ivan
05-04-2009, 11:28 AM