PDA

View Full Version : favorite camp sites

spiderboy
01-02-2009, 03:14 PM
I have been fishing the Mercer area for 20 years but have never camped on the flowage. Thought that i would poll all of the campers out there to find out which sites are most preferred and why. Also, my understaning is that the sites are available on a "first come - first serve basis" - has anyone had any trouble with people overtaking a campsite after it has been claimed?

DonH
01-02-2009, 04:44 PM
We camped for years. Usually stayed in the lower part of the flowage (Rat Lake or Lake Ten areas). What made us change and start renting a cabin (besides getting a lot smarter) was an incident about 4 years ago. Our group consists of 3 fathers and our grown sons. Our group that year was 8 guys (it varies between 6 and 9 most years). One day we're eating lunch at our campsite and we receive a visit from some DNR rangers. It seems these sites have a maximum of 6 people. There are a few sites around the flowage that allow larger numbers of people, but not the one we were camped at.

So we were issued a ticket for something like $180.00 (if I remember correctly). He also told us that he could ticket us for having tents in non-approved spots. Since there is no map on the island indicating where tents can be placed, that confused us. Anyway, 2 of us had to pack up and camp elsewhere. We were together for meals and stuff, but it became a bit of a bummer. Then a couple days of rain, and a building with a roof tends to look better and better.

Now we rent a large cabin, with beds, toilets, a furnace, a pier to dock our boats, and a frig to keep certain refreshments nice and chilled. Last spring we had a day that got down to 23°. When we came in at night (after dark), the first thing we all said was thank goodness we're not camping. Then we turned up the heat and played some cards!

LundAngler
01-03-2009, 11:13 PM