PDA

View Full Version : Lowrance Won't Load Lakemaster Map Data

Bones
08-07-2010, 05:32 PM
Has anyone had a problem with their Lowrance units loading maps from an MMC/SD Card? I have the Lakemaster card which I have been using for over two years. The Lowrance unit started to drop the Lakemaster map data while in use and I was having to turn the unit off and restart to get it to load again. This only happened every once in a while, but started to happen more frequently. Now I can barely get it to load at all. I updated the system software in the Lowrance unit, which went fine, but the unit is still not reading the card. Every now and then it will load, but the map goes blank after a couple of minutes. I have the LCX-28c HD.

Trying to figure out if this is relatively common and if there is a quick fix. Any help is appreciated.

Ty Sennett
08-08-2010, 09:07 AM
I'm guessing your card is failing. The same thing has happened to me. Most of the cards I use only last two years. I'm guessing the more times the system loads the card the less shelf life you have. make sure there is no corrosion on the conections of the card also. I did have one that just needed some cleanin'.

Bones
08-08-2010, 01:30 PM
Thanks Ty, it looks like you're right. Another card appears to be working. Will they replace the failed card, or do they expect you to buy a new one?

imgoingfishing
08-08-2010, 03:15 PM