PDA

View Full Version : where have all the fish gone ?

needham
01-31-2010, 11:33 AM
It looks like there has been a lot of fishing going on this past several month and not much catching. where are all those walleyes ? i don't believe its just there not hungry. has the nets cut the numbers down this much. I cant justify the 6 hour one way drive to come to the Bay to go home skunked. and the money i would have spent is impacting the UP economy. I have been fishing the bay for over 15 years. I may not fish there anymore due to the lack of fish.
I love it up there but cant justify the 12 hour round trip drive and catch nothing. I am also thinking of canceling my spring week long trip to the Bay also.
what is being done to get the walleye numbers back ?

The Bait Shop Guy
01-31-2010, 12:06 PM
There is no shortage of fish in the bay. Hungry fish that are willing to bite - that's another story. Things vary from day to day and who you talk to, but for the most part, everyone at least MARKS fish every trip. Dropping a camera will verify that most of them are walleyes.

If the bite was only bad here on LBDN, then I'd say the nets were the sole reason for it. We talk to people from all over Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, and lower Michigan, and everyone says their fishing has been slower than normal, too.

How has the fishing been in you're neck of the woods?

The Bait Shop Guy
01-31-2010, 12:07 PM
A perfect example http://www.outdoors911.com/reports/showthread.php?t=14244

CrankYanker
01-31-2010, 12:09 PM
Nothing! Wouldn't want those 10 fish left to catch a VHS virus!! hahahaha