PDA

View Full Version : This weeks report

Ty Sennett
10-29-2009, 08:35 PM
Sorry I didn't get any posts up in the last few days. had some computer issues. We boated 37,40,43,44,44, 45(tiger),47 1/2, and 48 inch fish this week. Most were on quick set rigs but most followed Bulldawgs first or gliders. a couple were caught on Bulldawgs. We lost some nice fish also. One mid forty inch fish on a Hugh's River glider and some on suckers that seemed to be pretty good. I'll get some pictures up sunday.

Water temps were 45 degrees today.

johnkersting
10-31-2009, 12:03 PM
Ty, Seems to me in my reading of different forums, you probably have more experience than most with the sucker rigs. My fall fishing consists of trolling cranks and casting when the weather allows it. I fish central MN and we have a year around camper at Youngs Bay LOTW, but all reports say the fish are on to the suckers more than cranks, at least around here. I have no experience with the sucker rigs, looking for a little insight on how to best use them. Can you help me out a bit? I've been told to slow troll. How slow? What keeps the sucker down in the water column? Do I need to add any weight to the rig? Also picked up sucker rigs with the big bobbers. Did I waste my money or do they have some use? How long should you wait before trying to set the hooks? Some old timers told me you have to wait til the fish is swallowing the sucker to assure a good hook set. Wouldn't that cause harm to the fish? I want to make sure I can have a good release. Any info? Sounds like your fall isn't going to bad. I did make a trip over to the Chip a couple of years ago. No luck! Might have hook up with you next summer and try it again. Good luck and thanks for any info you can spare.
Thanks, John

Ty Sennett
11-02-2009, 08:15 AM