www.lakegenevacannery.com

Thread: Advice Needed

Default Advice Needed

I'm a newbie (located in Iowa) to the Musky fishing world and looking for some advice on fishing gear. Over the winter I have been doing research to help prepare for the Musky season. I will primarily be fishing in Northern Minn on Leech Lake but am going to try and make it to Lake Kinkaid yet this spring.

My questions:
    1) I purchased a Shimano Calcutta 400B reel. Everything I read indicated this is a high quality reel so Im not too concerned about that. However, I have really only used open face reels in the past with the reel on the left side. I think a left hand retrieve would feel much more normal to me on the baitcaster but I bought a right hand retrieve (still can return). Any one else have the same dilemma when purchasing their first baitcaster? Will it take long to get use to the different setup? Would I be better off getting the left hand retrieve?

2) The rod I bought was the 7'6 St. Croix Premier MHF. Lately I have been reading messages on many sites where people are saying they don't use rods less than 8'. Would I be better off returning this for 8' or greater rod?

3) I want to buy another rod/reel combo for throwing bigger baits such as bulldawgs. What type of rod/reel would you recommend for the bigger baits?

4) What type of rod/reel setup is usually used for trolling?

5) Chad, do you have an availability calendar so I can book a trip for my dad and I up on Leech?

Sorry for all the questions but hoping for some advice. This message board seems to be pretty active compared to the other ones right now but that is probably because all of you have the luxury of being able to fish for musky right now!!!

Also since I know Chad fishes on Leech I thought he might know what works best for that area.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Chris