www.lakegenevacannery.com

Thread: Jersey City Flowage Pike and Musky

Default Jersey City Flowage Pike and Musky

Hello, I have been coming up for 15+ years and fishing the Jersey Flowage and have made some observations that I wanted to discuss with some people that are up there consistently. It seems to me that the number of musky in the lake has decreased over the last several years. It seems like there is a lot less action then there used to be. I hope it is just bad timing on the weeks when we were there. I also noticed that the number of pike has remained consistent or increased, but the size seems to be somewhat smaller than in past years. It perplexes me since the lake is loaded with northerns, but it seems like very few of them "grow up"

Does anyone have any thoughts as to whether or not the musky numbers have declined along with the size of the pike?

Sounds what you are describing is an increase in the pike population, that leaves less feed for the other fish to grow and makes it hard on the Muskies in gereral to forge and for their fry to survive.

Jimr is right, to many Northerns, Plus the Northerns spawn before the Muskies too. By the time the Muskies spawn hatch the baby pike are in there feeding on them. There still are some big Muskies in the Flowage and always will be as long as we release them! My brother catches a 40 inch Pike every year out of the Jersey. Still uses a Johnson Silver Minnow with pork rind (Old School)

Good Luck
    Dave
    Aquatic Arts Fishing Pro Shop
    www.fishtomahawk.com

I was thinking the same thing, but the perch and other panfish seem to be doing well too, so that kind of discouraged my belief that the pike over forage there. On a positive note, the small mouth population is doing fantastic there. When we first started going we did not catch all that many, but the numbers and size have increased as time has gone on. I guess though the northerns probably do kill the musky fry.