www.lakegenevacannery.com

Thread: Kayak Fishing

Default Kayak Fishing

A buddy and I are looking to get kayaks specifically to fish. I have done some research and really like the Jackson Coosa, the Wildy Ride and Commander. I would like any and all suggestions as I am new to this kayak thing. I will mainly be fishing the lakes along the 79 corridor and the Ohio, Beaver and Shenango Rivers. I do like to have my gear with me: a bunch of plano boxes and I would like to carry several rods. I am looking more for stability than speed. I have a full size truck to carry it. Also the weight is not really a factor, I can carry it If size is important I am 5'8" 260. Sorry this is long, but just want to give as much detail as possible. I can't wait to catch a musky in a yak.

Thank you for any suggestions,

Mike

My favorite subject. Large cockpit, 55+" front to back. Comfortable seat a must.

Avoid fishing package kayaks as the rod holders are probably not where you want them and they will come with either scotty rod holders which are great with spinning tackle rods with relatively short handles but a good sized fish and a musky rod handle will pin the rod in the holder. I use Folbe rod holders which are released by lifting the rod straight up. The rod holders set behind the seat are tough to use. Almost any turn will cause two trolled lines to tangle as they are set within the width of the kayak. I've also seen rods knocked out of these holders and to the bottom of the lake.
    Since August 2006 I've been using a 12' Wilderness Systems Pungo. I'm 6', 190 lbs. My friend who uses the same model is 6'2" and 290 lbs. 325lb capacity on the kayak. I carry 2 plano large boxes (1 behind the seat and the other just below the front edge of the cockpit) and one box from a first aid kit with more lures under one leg. Also carrying an ice fishing depthfinder with reg transducer.