www.lakegenevacannery.com

Thread: Planer board questions

Default Planer board questions

I'm a newbie when it comes to planer boards. My daughter got me a gift certificate to Amazon for Father's Day (sorry, Chris!), so I thought I might use it to buy a couple of planer boards and try that out walleye fishing.

Some questions:

--Which make and which size would you recommend? I notice they come in various sizes and various companies make them.

--Do I need just the planer boards themselves (aside from the obvious rod and reel), or is there other hardware I need?

I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible (if that helps your answers). Talking maybe 2 rods going at a time at the most.

Thanks in advance for any tips and input.

Cant help you Yoopertroll, but Im gonna start. I bought a nice 2 reel mast with the planer boards for $20.00 at a yard sale 2 weeks ago! Lookes like a exspensive unit at one time, but the guy said he wanted out. I also got 2-10 ft eagle claw downrigger rods with the reels for $10 each. Next stop I bought a JC Higgins alum tackle box with about 15 old lures for $20. I was having a field day. The last stop of the day I got a brinkman smoker/grill still in the box for $10.00

Default Planers...

If you're fishing walleye, don't buy Big Bird planer boards... they're way too heavy and you can tow a 15" walleye behind it and not even notice. Personally, I have 3 sets of Church Boards (the Walleye Board) and I'm as happy as can be with them. I don't have a single complaint about them and will not even try any other boards because I don't feel the need to. I use them to pull harnesses or cranks. I know some guys prefer Offshore Boards, but I've never ran them...from what I hear they are good boards too. No additional hardware needed with church boards. You can buy tattle flags, but I don't use them, and again, I don't see the need to. Not saying any other brands aren't good, but Church Boards get my vote. Just my .02