www.lakegenevacannery.com

Thread: Small mouth

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Small mouth

What is considered a large smallie caught in TTF. My son caught a 19 inch smallie that i considered a good size fish when we took it in to get mounted the guy said it was Avg size for the Flowage.. I have caught a number of 16 inch footballs out of the Flowage and was kinda shocked to here it was just Avg.

Default Average!!!

True, the flowage does have some tremendous smallmouth bass, but to refer to a 19" as average is ludicrous. I'm waiting to catch a 20" to get a replica mount made, and I haven't caught that one yet. I had her on and saw her several times, but couldn't get her close enough to net. It was a blast but in the end, using an ultarlight cost me that fish. I couldn't control her, the fight lasted too long and she eventually just threw the hook. She hit on a leech under a slip bobber.

I'm not an expert, but I would guess a 20" on the TFF is on the rare side which makes a 19" one heck of a fish.

Default Another mastermind

It never fails.... you catch a truly big fish (which you did), or shoot a nice buck, and here he comes with an opinion nobody asked for - the "master" outdoorsman. These doufus's never fail to belittle, and they never fail to elevate themselves with the next breath. I have caught one 20" smallie on the flowage....... one. I don't think I have ever caught a 19", and have caught several heavy 18" fish all of which are trophies in my eye. Your fish is a trophy, congratulations!

Default Agreed.