PDA

View Full Version : Night walleyes??

deerdude
01-25-2009, 04:18 PM
I have been coming up to lbdn for a couple years now and was wondering why hardly anyone jigs for walleyes after dark?? It seems that once it gets dark I hardly ever mark any fish. Any answers??

The Bait Shop Guy
01-25-2009, 08:01 PM
It seems that once it gets dark I hardly ever mark any fish.

You pretty much answered your own question. It's hard to understand how a body of water can go from such a hot night bite in the fall, to virtually no night bite in the winter.

Ain't no 'splainin' it.

raywriter
01-25-2009, 11:30 PM
I spent some time tonight checking shallower spots I considered likely places for walleyes to visit after dark. No such luck. A 24" pike stopped by breifly before sunset, but the glass-eyes remained elusive. I jigged large spoons as attractors, then put lively shiners down on slip-float rigs. I had fish show on the locator near bottom in 10' to 13' but just one hit and I missed that one. Incidentally, that hit came in on a wiggler I had down near bottom in thirteen feet for any perch that might approach. It may have been a whitefish. I'm seeing them occasionally on a camera in nearby deeper water (28'). Not sure if they move shallower at night. Shallowest I fished today was 8', deepest 13'.

CaptainKenLee
01-26-2009, 07:56 AM