PDA

View Full Version : Take a Kid Fishing!

Joel DeBoer
04-02-2011, 10:20 AM
From my blog "Guide Notes" at wisconsinoutdoorfun.com

I’ve certainly written or spoken about them plenty of times over the years – my earliest memories of fishing. I remember the earliest of days, fishing with family on the grassy banks of the Eau Claire River not far from my Grandparents dairy farm. The warm lazy sunshine-filled summer afternoons were perfect for a kid, as buckets of hand-dug worms resulted in a flurry of action from chubs, shiners, suckers, and the occasional smallmouth bass. I remember the trips to the farm ponds and the eager anticipation with which I studied my bobber, ever vigilant for the slightest movement indicating a visitor from below. The scores of bluegills and largemouth bass we caught and released helped to fuel the seemingly never-ending smile on my face. I undoubtedly could ramble on concerning memories of fishing as a child, and couldn’t be more thankful for the ability to do so. I have many people to thank for providing those opportunities to me including my parents, grandparents, and an array of aunts and uncles.

The sad fact of the matter is that many young people today do not have the opportunity to experience the joy and tranquility the outdoors can provide. Broken homes, hectic work schedules, and the ever-increasing competition for our attention from video games to the Internet are but a few of the contributing factors to this dilemma.